A government’s role is only to provide defence capability and urban infrastructure (roads, water supplies, etc.). All other services (education, health, social security) should be provided by private groups or individuals in the community.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

From the beginning of civilization, government issues are always on debate. Some people claim that, providing security and significant needs like water, roads, buildings etc. should be done by public authority while study, medical and other social facilities should be developed by individual or private sector. In my opinion, from national security to social services government’s action should be priorities and every citizen should come forward to help these activities.

Every developed country is focused on infrastructure and fulfilling daily emergencies of that nation. Government makes huge budget every year to invest in this area so that people can live a happy and modern life. But this happiness will not last long unless it has well organized education, health and social opportunities. For example, last year Bangladesh government fixed 56% of total budget for defence, construction, water and electricity supplies and 38% on study and health, because single people are not enough to do this.

On the other hand, some private companies are investing in opening schools, hospitals, shopping-malls etc. to make social life easier but often is has been said that private institutions are costly for maximum people. Hence the government only, can help to ensure this services for general public with the help, tax or rules application on rich people or companies. For instance, there rules in Bangladesh that every large company arrange for free education or medical treatment or amusement park as a corporate social responsibility.

In conclusion, a nation can be developed and enriched only when government takes lead of all necessary projects and receive sufficient supports from it’s citizens.