Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

People are calling into question the allocation of budget by government on railways over the roads. While some individuals believe that government should spend money on railways, others dismiss them as they think roads are the main and the most important one. Admittedly, I completely agree that government should be more focused on railways and spend money on railways for a number of compelling reasons which will be elaborated.

To begin with, nowadays railways consider as one of the safest ways of transportation. That is, the more technology enhanced, the more trains are being safer. In other words, being more automatic and less human controlled, trains are getting safer. Due to the fact that based on the recent research, 85 percent of accident are because of the human fault. Therefore, were to government allot the budget for railways and expand the network, the benefits accruing from this would be for society, as people would have a safer way of transportation.

Yet another compelling argument is that thanks to the technology, the trains, nowadays, are become much more faster thank any vehicles on the roads. That being said, if people wanted to travel from one location to another, travelling via railways could save them a lot of time. Moreover, one train can easily transport thousands of people while with one bus, for example, maximum of 50 individuals can be transport. Thus, by spend more budget on railways not only government can help ones with their time but also more individuals can be transported at the same time.

In sum up, I completely agree that government must allot more budget for railways rather than roads. That is mainly because by using railways government can lay the foundation for building a better and safer country and address some controversial concerns of the society including but not limited to safety and time.