A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

Although an increasing number of human beings believe that animals should not be used for satisfying people's personal needs and that they ought to have same rights as people, others believe that animals should be used for various purposes, including food and research.

On the one hand, some people consider that animals should not be used for selfish reasons by human beings and ought to have similar rights as people have. These people believe that people have no right to cause pain to animals by experimenting various drugs on them, as they cannot justify their suffering. Take for example, according to research in western part of India, 55% of teenagers between the age group 17-22 were against the trial of new drugs on animals because of the suffering they undergo. Furthermore, people also think that it is against the moral right of human beings to kill animals for food.

On the other hand some individuals opine that there is no wrong in killing animals to produce food or try new drugs on them. These people are of notion that animals are below them in food chain, so it is acceptable to kill them for food; for example, eating meat helps to maintain protein and carbohydrate level in human body. Moreover, it is necessary to advance in research and develop new drugs. So trying the authenticity and reliability of these drugs on certain animals is of no harm. For instance, a chicken is short-lived, so trying a specific drug to check the viability on them will not only provide results faster but also will help to know if there are any other side-effect on next generations.

In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinion about animal rights, I think human beings ought to use animals for food and developing new drugs, as eating animals helps individuals to maintain balanced diet and research is crucial for discovery of important drugs.