A growing number of people work by telecommuting, that is, the employee works from home, using a computer and the Internet to connect with the office.What are the advantages and disadvantages of working this way?

Is telecommuting a boon or a bane? Internet is the blood line of a modern day economy, it is ubiquitous. In this essay we will explore the positive and negative aspects of working from any where.

Undoubtedly, internet has transformed the way we work, communicate, and research in today's world compared to the system that existed a few decades ago. Firstly, the internet helps us cope with many challenges, it saves a lot of time and effort one invests in commuting. For example, in a country like India, where the growing population and over crowded cities that lack good infrastructure are still coping with traffic issues. Despite all the efforts from the government, such as better public transport system to ensure better connectivity, and eco-friendly mode of commuting such as smart bikes, the saga of morning rush hour traffic never ends. Secondly, telecommuting helps restore the work life balance. For example, if one needs to attend to an ailing parent or a new born child, one can do so with the flexibility that telecommuting offers. Lastly, the productivity of an employee is not affected. For example, if one has a cast on your leg and need to stay at home to recover faster, one can still continue to work remotely, without having to take a break from their work. Moreover, this helps the companies in maintaining their productivity levels.

However, there are some obvious disadvantages as well. Firstly, when one works predominantly from home, the social interaction is very limited, and not many opportunities to leverage on the combined knowledge that a team of people can add value to one's work. Perspective of finding an ideal solution to a problem is mostly one sided because of the silo working culture. Secondly, the increased access to interact with diverse set of people across the globe means that one needs to be available sometimes at odd working hours in a particular time zone. For example, one may need to attend a crucial meeting at 3.00 am in their time zone, this could sometimes lead to working through out the day and night.

In conclusion, there are positive and negative aspects to work from any where and I think, the benefits out weight the drawbacks.