Families who do not send their children to government financed schools should not be required to pay taxes that support universal education To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Many affluent families send their children to private schools for better facilities and teaching methods that provide a holistic education. Some say that the this trend has a sever impact on the working class families that aspire to provide the best for their wards. Many individuals pay taxes to support universal education that their children do not avail. To a certain extent, I do understand the resentment from salaried individuals.

Undoubtedly, the quality of education that children receive in government run schools is deplorable. Firstly, the lack of funds towards facilities. For example, in a country like India many schools do not have the basic amenities such as a library, a play ground, and classroom. The money allocated is insufficient to build a good infrastructure at schools. Secondly, the teachers are not provided training adequately to make learning a beautiful experience for children. Innovative and creative approach to teaching can have a great impact on young minds.

Interestingly, despite the high tuition fee in private schools, parents are willing to admit their wards to such institutions. Firstly, the non-refundable admission fee that these institute charge is used to create a better facility. Secondly, the surplus cash flow can be invested in training the teachers and adopting innovate teaching methods.

In conclusion, although the quality of education in private institutes are better, the lack of funds is the reason for the inefficiency in running a government school. Hence, taxes that support universal education is very crucial for a developing country like India where many people are impoverished. However, the salaried employees bear the burden of tax and rising fees. In my opinion, the government should ease the burden of tax at least for the working middle class.