A growing number of people work by telecommuting that is the employee works from home using a computer and the Internet to connect with the office What are the advantages and disadvantages of working this way

The current pandemic has forced us to telecommute for every single purpose. This essay will discuss that telecommuting has proved to be beneficial when it comes to saving time and environment. However, increased exposure to screens and lack of social activity have proved to be negatives of the same.

Telecommuting saves the time that people spend going and coming back from work. Especially in bigger cities, traffic tends to take up several hours, thereby wasting plenty of time that people could have used for themselves and their families. Additionally, telecommuting is relatively environment friendly. Since people no longer use their vehicles and public transport, it leads to reduction in air pollution, giving us a cleaner environment.

For example, during the first wave of COVID-19 pandemic, the skies were much more blue than grey, mainly because people were working from home, curbing air pollution.

As beneficial telecommuting is, it also has certain disadvantages. Lack of social interaction leads to mental health issues such as depression and anxiety. It is crucial for a person’s emotional well-being that they interact with their peers. Furthermore, only relying on computer screens for interaction has led to several eye defects which would not happen otherwise. The harmful blue light from computer and phone screens causes severe damage to our eyes. For example, a recent study conducted by Vision Health Board in 2020 revealed that constant exposure to blue light reduces one’s eyesight by double in a span of one year.

In conclusion, Both the advantages and disadvantages are equally important when it comes to telecommuting. It has helped us spend time with our loved ones along with saving the environment. However, it has certain disadvantages such as exposure to blue light and lack of interaction with friends and colleagues.