The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing.

Do you agree or disagree?

With the advancement in information technology, e-commerce has witnessed a significant boom: particularly in the last 5 years. Revenue generated from online sales has been increasing at such a rate that marketing experts fear that in coming years, online retailers will predominate the major market share resulting in the closure of traditional stores and outlets. I believe that the day is not far when 100% of the transactions would be done online using mobile phones or computers.

The most obvious reason for the seismic shift of shoppers towards e-commerce is convenience. Office workers who used to spend hours in the market are now ordering groceries, clothes, and food from online retailers that runs 24 hours and 7 days of the week. In addition, online platform has provided market access to a wide variety of suppliers resulting in an immense pressure on them to offer competitive rates to consumers. Clearly, online purchasers have flexibility in term of timing and price option.

Another reason behind the success of online businesses is the operational cost. In other words, companies are no longer required to operate fancy and exuberant stores in high-rise shopping malls neither there is a need for opening outlets in other cities for geographical expansion. Nonetheless, there may be a need to set-up warehouses in major cities but running a warehouse is considerably cheap compared to a well-decorated shop in commercial centers.

To conclude, e-commerce is beneficial for both businessmen and consumers and is taking over the market share at a fast pace. Commercial hub will eventually be disappeared from the world maps sooner or later.