Health care should not be provided for free regardless of a person’s income. The health of a person is in their own hands and they should, therefore, be held accountable for that. Do you agree with this opinion?

I disagree with the statement that if an individual faces health issues, he should be held responsible for it. There are certain situations where medical facilities should be available to the citizens on an equal platform regardless of their financial status. The ensuing paragraphs will support my view point.

Catastrophic diseases like cancer and tumors are difficult to control. While we can take care of our general health by following a healthy life style and regular exercise, it is highly unlikely that conditions where one suffers with deadly diseases can be detected easily. As per a survey conducted by WHO, 70% cases of cancer are detected at stage 3 and the condition is severe. If the patient is lucky enough to realize the symptoms at an early stage, then, they can be saved. Therefore, it is difficult to blame the individual for developing certain health conditions.

Another scenario where it is unfair to hold a person accountable is in the wake of natural calamities. They are uncalled disasters which can injure or result in untimely death of public. No one expects such calamities and are unprepared for such situation. For instance, the leak of methane gas on 3rd December in Bhopal, India took hundreds and thousands of lives, till today the generations following the calamity have been suffering with skin, eyes and lung diseases. Hence, it would be unethical to deprive the victims of medical services and proper treatment.

To conclude, while people can surely take care of their general health, it is impossible to predict certain diseases and natural calamities. Therefore, it is important to provide health care to everyone disregarding their income.