One of the most serious problems that cities now face is crime Why are crime rates increasing in cities What are the most effective measures to tackle crime in urban areas

Living in a safe country is everyone's dream. People would definitely chose a place which is safe for them and their children as their first option to reside. This essay will discuss various causes and ways in which we can deal with the crime rates.

Increase in crime rates are recorded mostly in the developing country or third world country. One of the causes can be uneven distribution of money the within the society. On one hand we have men who are filthy rich and on the other hand lies people who are under poverty line struggling for one time meal. When the poor are not able to manage one time meal they turn to crimes like stealing and kidnapping. Another reason for the hike in criminal activities is because of unemployment. The rate of increasing in population is higher than available employment opportunities. Besides, for a single vacancy there are more than 100 applicants and due to these unbalanced demand and supply the unhappy job-seeker turns to sources where they can make easy money.

Government and the Security officials such as Police should collaborate together and come up which solutions which will help or contribute towards eradicating the criminal activities. Firstly, the government should ensure that each family should have a bread earner and the minimum wages are paid so that they have enough income to pay for their basic needs. Secondly, education plays a vital role in mental and social development of an individual, hence more and more children should be encouraged to attend school. Perhaps, the government can provide special perks to the children who complete their high school and do not drop out. Lastly, the police should make sure that antisocial people are handled correctly so that they do not lure innocent people by giving them false hope.

To conclude every individual should play his part correct. Our country is our safe haven, and it is the responsibility of everyone who resides to contribute towards the betterment of the nation.