Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge. To what extend is this a positive or a negative development?

The Internet has made our life easier. Advanced Technology provides us options to avail any content available online with a click of a button and free of charge. This essay will argue about the positives and negatives and support that this development is Moderately adequate.

Let us discuss the benefits, Nowadays people depend hugely on the internet to search for their requirements. A wide variety of books which otherwise are very expensive to buy are also available online through which the children or even adults who could not afford to buy them can acquire. I would like to prominently give an example of IELTS exam materials that are available online, certain students are not financially stable to attend a coaching class and hence might deprive of the practice needed to sit for an exam. Although not 100% but still, these materials help the aspirants to understand the pattern and attempt the exam. All the reason above does make it a favorable development for the people.

Every coin has two sides and so if this Modern technology is beneficial it has few adverse effects too. Movies and songs are a mammoth task to create, one spends months or even years to develop and movie script or a musician puts in a lot of hard work to come up with a song. The budget is high and the Producers depend solely on the public to earn profits. When the spectators watch the movie the producers earn money. Even though a large group of people goes to the theater there are certain people who download them and watch the movie at home. This decreases the revenue which is a big disadvantage.

As agreed moderately with this idea to conclude we can say that technology has flourished through years and made our life easier but a limited download policy can be applied to the part where this facility hampers the economic value of the contents.