Housing shortage in big cities can cause severe social consequences. Some people think only government action can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that unavailability of living space in congested metropolitan can lead to unprecedented repercussions. I completely agree with the statement that its government responsibility to mitigate these problems.

Firstly, with increase in population, people are forced to live in crowded areas subsidizing the standard of living. In other words, quality of life decrease substantially by this phenomena. For example, inhibitors face security issues as with clogged streets crime rate increases. This cannot be controlled by individuals or society so authorities have to take action, such as increase in forced units and installation of surveillance cameras, to overcome this problem. Additionally, increase in garbage production rate and air pollution caused by traffic is seen on these places leading to deteriorating environmental condition. Again here, government ought to provide a systematic disposal system to restrict carbon emission.

Secondly, to evade the situation, families prefer to live on suburbs, away from the main cities. This not only deprives them of basic facilities such as Hospitals, which mostly are situated in center of cities, but also generate mobilization problems. For instance, on an average, it takes approximately one hour for commuters to reach the workplace from outskirts of city for job. Communities cannot provide such facilities because of limited resources and government have to indulge to construct amenities for families living on far side according to the requirements. Furthermore, efficient traffic system need to be established to resolve travel issue. For example, London is expanding exponentially and government has provided underground railway called tube to facilitate citizens.

In conclusion, although societal problems generate in populated cities, effective government policies and steps can help solve these problems for the betterment of society and increase in life standard.