Some people say that good diet and regular exercise are not necessary for a long and healthy life.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Importance of physical workout and eating habits can be called subjective if nourishing life is questioned. I totally favor the statement in question prompt and will illustrate reasons behind my opinion in subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, happy and prosperous life can be linked with mental health which is in negative co-relation with stress. The pressure, which could stem from any factor such as drudgery and societal insecurities, can lead to serious issues causing depression, anxiety and other mental illnesses. These elements have significant contribution to one's well-being and lessening these would certainly increase the life standard. For the sake of this reason, Bhutan has a Ministry of Happiness, which solve aforementioned issues, making the country population as 98% happy if decided on the basis of standards set by United Nations.

Secondly, environmental problems, such as air pollution, have drastic impact on life. To explain more, the surrounding conditions can have both negative and positive effects, which if not appropriate, need to be solved to increase longevity and to encourage good life. For example, while the people in giant metropolitan cities suffer from various unprecedented diseases such as asthma and even cancer, people living on countryside are less-likely to face those. Furthermore, land or soil pollution can even affect the vegetation which is grown and later used as food.

Admittedly, exercise and nutritious food does bring positive results but with the involvement in busy work-routine in this era that everybody has to face, the requirement of muscle activity is full filled.

In conclusion, extrapolating results from the nuanced views provided, it is clear that other issues, namely stress and pollution, are prime factors for flourishing living, and need to be resolved to improve quality of life.