How malls replace local shops, explain advantages and disadvantages of both with an example.

In recent years, many local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres to do their shopping.

Reason behind this is simple. Customer prefer shopping malls because that is one stop destination for all their needs. They do have options ranging from cinemas, food and exclusive collection of branded cloths. Malls also have options of creche so that married couple can leave their children and carry on with their tasks. Also, malls have massaging chairs and other needed things for elderly people to keep them engaged. Since most of the current generation have either bike or car, mall provide free parking for the customers. In almost all malls, we can find a grocery stores and people purchase before they leave the mall.

As result of this, many local shops have closed. It is not a good sign because the economy of mid-range families has been affected. To overcome this, owners of local shops should come up with some solution to enhance them and attract more customers to their side. They can book nearby place for parking and provide free parking to its customer. Additionally, they can run offers during festival which would pull a good number of customers.

Eventhough local shops provide discounts and come up with new strategy, it is almost impossible to pull lost customers back into their business. People will tend to spend something more in malls to get the branded cloths and accessories, rather than getting it cheaper in local shops. Also, vast collections of branded materials make mall almost impossible to replace.