How To Use RSI (RELATIVE STRENGTH INDEX) Indicator

The Relative Strength Index (RSI) was developed by J. Welles Wilder, the author of another standard indicator for МТ4 and МТ5, the ATR indicator.

Wilder first published the description of the RSI indicator in Commodities magazine in 1978. A few years later, his book New Concepts in Technical Trading Systems was published, where he described the technical tool

Horizontal dotted lines are signal lines, whose parameters are specified in the settings. The values of 30 and 70 are by default; the levels scale is on the right of the chart.

The overbought zone is between levels 70 and 100.

The oversold zone is between the levels of 30 and 0.

These zones are strong as the trend and the oscillator are the most likely to reverse.

For More info - https://gurujitrading.com/how-to-use-rsi-and-rsi-divergence/

If the trend is clear, the levels of the borders of the range can be moved to 20 and 80. Levels 30 and 70 are used if the trend is weak, or the market is trading flat. The longer is the distance between the signal levels, the less frequent are signals. One the other hand, the signals are more accurate in this case.

You can employ the indicator in any market. It is equally efficient in the Forex trading charts, in the securities or stock markets.

https://www.investopedia.com/terms/r/rsi.asp

RSI Indicator Calculation & Formula

What does the RSI indicate? By the RSI meaning, the indicator compares the size of candlesticks (i.e. the trend strength. The longer is the candlestick, the stronger is the trend) within a particular period specified in the settings. In general, that is what the rsi indicator buy and sell signals are based on.

RSI formula:

Step 1. The relative strength index calculates the range of the positive (U) and the negative (D) change in the price. I will explain the relative strength index formula below.

The period closes up, being a rising (positive) period if the current close is higher than the closing price of the previous period.

U = Price(i) - Price(i-1)

D = 0, where

Price(i) is the close price of the current period (i.e. current candlestick), Price(i-1) is the close of the previous period.

The period closes down, it is a falling (negative) period if the current close price is lower than the previous close.

U = 0

D = Price(i-1) - Price(i)

If both closing prices are equal, then U = 0, D = 0.

Step 2. Calculation of the relative strength.

RS = SMA(N) of U / SMA(N) of D

The formula means that the values of U and D are smoothed with a Simple Moving Average (SMA) with the N period. One of the sources gives a simplified formula: RS (Relative strength) is the ratio of the average gain to the average loss.