Human activity has damaged the environment all around the world. Some people think that humans cannot stop damaging the planet where as other believe that we can alter our behaviour and prevent future damage. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Human activity puts a highly negative strain on our planet. Some are of the opinion that there is no way to stop it, while others assume that future damage could be minimized and human’s responsibility to implement certain damage preventive measures. In this essay, I will consider both sides of the argument and then give my own opinion on the matter.

On the one side are those, who are sure that nothing can be done with harmful human activities such as resource extraction, working plants and factories, refineries, etc. This is because humans have got constant demand for supplies and their production inevitably damages the environment. In addition, all our attempts to somehow reduce our need for resources are futile and do not bring any significant change in the ecological situation in terms of the pollution or the decline in mining. To illustrate, despite all the efforts only 13% of the global energy supply is covered by the alternative sources of energy.

Nevertheless, their opponents believe that humans should not stop the attempts of tackling the issue as there are feasible measures, which can be taken in order to prevent further damage. Thus, all the environmental initiatives should be implemented on governmental level as only global cooperation is capable of significantly improving the situation. For example, the global manufactures and authorities should allocate funds to the environment-friendly production and cost-effective methods of using renewable resources.

In conclusion, both sides have their merits. On balance, however, I believe that human-beings have to do everything to tackle ecological issues at any cost because it is our responsibility to save the planet for the future generations.