Some people think that children’s leisure activities should always be educational. Others think that it puts too much pressure on children. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an opinion that youngsters should not waste their free time without a purpose, but do something educational instead. While opponents of this idea assume that constant learning may put exceeded tension on them. In this essay, I will consider both sides of the argument and then give my own opinion on the matter.

On the one side of the argument are those, who assume that children’s leisure activities have to have educational purposes. This is because the modern generation lives in the digital era and tends to waste their spare time on computer games, videos, or social networks, which may be harmful to their sustainable development. Meanwhile, if the youth spent this time learning new skills, they would be more successful in the feature. For instance, a lot of champions or young geniuses came out from those children who dedicated their free time for sport, music, art, or other useful activities. In addition, supports of this notion may refer to the latest concept of neuroplasticity, which applies that the human brain is developing during an educational process.

On the other side, some people argue that this kind of approach puts too much pressure on children because they may feel overwhelmed without having time for relaxation or something else. Human beings are indeed ‘social animals’ and they have a constant need for human interactions. It would be wrong to take it away from young people in favour of learning for the reason that consequences may be devastating, For example, children who do not have an opportunity to relax or and just go out with friends may begin to feel isolated and lonely.

In my opinion, it is should be a balance between learning activities and totally free time when children can play games. Communicate with each other without any extra purpose just enjoying themselves. Although learning new skills is significantly important, our lives not only about learning and achievements but also about joy and happiness.

In conclusion, both sides have their merits. However, I think that it is unnecessary for children’s leisure activities to be educational all the time. It would be right to keep them in balance with the time when the youth can relax and enjoy the time of their lives.