International marketing is sometimes seen as invasive and an intrusion into the country in question. Others argue that it is a necessary and economical form of education in addition to spreading ideas, language and culture. Discuss both views and then give your opinion.

Many multi-national companies invest a hefty sum of the profits in to marketing their products or services to potential consumers across the world. Some people are of the opinion that advertising in multiple countries can aid the spread of new ideas, whereas, the others believe that these advertisements can be harmful to the country’s existing culture and beliefs. I advocate that there are many merits to marketing internartionally. This essay will elaborate on both the points of view and highlight my opinion on this situation.

It is a common belief that each country has its own morals and ideas that have been part of their culture for generations, but international companies may not take this into account when developing their advertisements. If these companies do not consider the different norms and cultural traits of a certain location, there is a possibility to seriously hurt the sentiments of the citizens. A case in point is the advertisement by Nike in 2010, where they were publicsizing their volley ball collection in Oman. In this commercial, they showed a group of girls playing the sport at the beach in their swimsuits. Since this kind of attire is against the country’s culture, the brand received enourmous amount of negative comments and were banned selling their products in Oman for 5 years. This shows how brands can lose the mark by trying to impose their ideas and as a result make the people of that nation unhappy.

On the other hand, however, many, including myself, think that advertising in various geographies will help spread the rich knowledge. Companies with an international reach have established themselves successfully in other locations by sharing their message to the citizens and over time, getting them to believe in their cause. The renowned beverage brand Coca Cola, for instance, not only advertises during local festivals such as Ramzan in Dubai, but also execute major advertising campaigns during festivals that are celebrated in their home country like Christmas or Halloween. This type of marketing, moreover, helps citziztens of Dubai learn about the other important festivals celebrated in different parts of the world.

In conclusion, although, people are of the opinion that advertising in multiple countries can cause disruption to their way of life, the others believe that these advertisements are benefictial for counties to embarking the global culture. In my view, counties will gain a lot from these marketing campaigns to help them become a more globalised nation.