Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Do you agree or disagree? Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement?

People work for most of their lives with retirement as the end goal, but does the age to retire for everyone needs to be the same? Some believe that a common age limit is a fair situation for all whereas others think it should depend on the occupation. In this essay, I will elaborate on the why I agree with a variable age of retirement and highlight some professionals that will benefit from early retirement.

I think it is important that the type of work and it’s affects are considered when a this age is decided for an individual. For certain type of workers, it is cruel to make them work till such an old age. Moreover, another parameter to consider should be the ability to perform after a certain age and if insisting the older employees to continue working will adversly impact their health or the work in itself. Like we can see in the area of sports, depending on the intensity of physical activities, the sprotsmen retire as early as 40 years. When these factors are taken into account, it is clear that a standard age across the spectrum is not a viable option.

Early retirement is the need of the hour for some professions due to its manner of work. If the job is mentally or physicaly intensive, it is not advisable to have a senior citizen working in that field. Contruction workers, for instance, require a degree of strength to lift and work with heavy equipments which will be dangerous for older and weaker bodies. Another group of skilled workers that need to retrie earlier than 65 years are the medical staff as its very risky for them to operate on patients and put their lifes in danger.

To conclude, it is vital that the role and job description is taken into account when deciding on the age limit and not go with a one size fits all approach as it can have a direct impact on peoples lives.