Some people think that having a set retirement age e g 65 years for everybody regardless of occupation is unfair They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age Do you agree or disagree Which types of work

There are many people who believe that the retirement age of individuals should not be the same for everyone. Some people augers that they should retire earlier than others for certain occupations. Although the population of the world will gradually decrease in the future, some countries have even extended the retirement age in order to maintain the number of working populations. However, from the perspective of certain jobs, even if the retirement age is increased, it cannot guarantee a sufficient labour force.

In my point of view, certain occupations allow early retirement because they require a lot of physical fitness and are not suitable for older people. Such as firefighters, police or soldiers need to work in a harsh environment, so there are certain physical requirements, but the physical fitness will decrease with age. If they continue to work, it will only endanger their lives, so after reaching a certain age, they have to retire from the workplace and enjoy early retirement.

In addition, doctors are also one of the occupations that can retire early because they need to operate on patients. When performing surgery, not only need to have high concentrations but also need to have a healthy body. Moreover, body functions are prone to problems in old age due to always under high-pressure work. Whether it is for doctors or patients, it is better for doctors to retire early.

To sum up, single retirement age is not feasible in society, because many positions should be filled by people who are not old or devalued. Of cause, there are many clerical jobs that allow older people to keep working.