Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age.

Do you agree or disagree?

Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement?

Many people believe that the retirement age of the individuals should not be same for everyone. They argue that people who are employed in particular occupations deserve to enjoy their retirement and pension plans earlier than other employees. In my opinion, early retirement for certain jobs is logical since many occupations have higher workload than others and these professions which are discussed below are not proper to be filled by old people for the good of everyone.

First and foremost, many jobs are handled in intense conditions and these occupations should only be filled by people who are fully concentrated and capable. For this reason, when employees are unable to fulfill their tasks, it is illogical and inhumane to force them to continue to work. To illustrate, an elderly brain surgeon who does not have clear eye-sight due to his old age, should retire earlier than regular doctors since he should have the desired qualifications, such as seeing the brain cells or veins clearly, in order to cure the patients. Consequently, positions which require the full attention of the employees due to the intensity of the tasks should retire earlier than rest of the employees.

Specific positions such as firefighters, policemen, miners or surgeons should retire in an earlier age than the regular retirement age because they either work in a harsh working environment which depreciate their body substantially, or these positions should be employed by athletic people to handle the duties comprehensively. For instance, a miner who mostly stay under the ground for most of his / her shift without seeing the sunlight, deserves to enjoy his / her retirement earlier than a regular white collar employee who works in a lavish office since the miner already has experienced an exhausting career. Apart from that, an old policeman may not be effective to catch the burglars or murderers since he may not be capable of running, jumping to capture these law breakers. As a result, the positions which require physical fitness or depreciate employees more intensively than other workers, should be ensured to retire and receive pension earlier than others.

To sum up, single retirement age is not a feasible option in a society since many positions should be handled by people who are not old or depreciated. Examples of these positions can be given as the law enforcement officials or people who work in mining that depreciate abundantly.