‘Nowadays, news companies spend a lot of money covering international news. However, local news is more relevant to people’s lives and should receive more funding.’

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In today’s world, news broadcasters allocate great portion of their financial sources for international news coverage. Many people believe that these funds should be switched to the local news, due to the irrelevance of international news to the society. In my opinion, I believe that even though local news is essential for citizens, international developments around the world should not be neglected.

First and foremost, local news is significant for every person in a country. This is because national developments affect people’s lives, therefore individuals should keep themselves informed with the latest local news. For instance, in 2019, Italian government was abolished by the Prime Minister due to a dispute between the coalition parties and parliament decided to go for snap elections. If an Italian voter does follow that update, then he or she may miss to fulfill his/her responsibility as a citizen. Apart from that, TVs and newspapers should ensure to convey the latest advantages or improvements in the country, such as newly constructed public transport lines or a law that gives extra tax refund for seniors, hence people can benefit from these local developments. Consequently, every person should keep himself/herself updated with local news in order not to miss developments that are vital for them.

On the other hand, international news should be covered by the news channels adequately since many global developments are relevant for everyone in the world. Considering this, particular global issues are significant for every resident because globalisation connects everyone to each other with strong bonds. To illustrate, a raise in the interest rates of the Unites States Federal Reserve, which is the Central Bank of the USA, detoriorates the payback conditions of the debt owners in the world since the interests rates in global financial institutions are correlated with the interest rates in the Federal Reserve, so a hike in interest rate in the USA could increase the marginal interest payment of a mortgage debt owner in Turkey. From that concept, it can be comprehended that global news can be valuable for individuals if it affects their life, people should keep an eye on this news.

To sum up, I believe that even though covering local news is a must for the news broadcasting firms to keep people informed, individuals should not ignore major global news not to miss any relevant information.