‘Nowadays, news companies spend a lot of money covering international news. However, local news is more relevant to people’s lives and should receive more funding.’

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays we live in a globalized world which seems to be getting smaller every day. As a consequence, it is not surprising that international news attracts most people’">people’s attention, and that news organization spend a large part of their budget on this. news stories about things happening on the other side of the world are often dramatic and on a large scale, seeming much more exciting than local news. However, in my opinion, news organizations should also provide enough money to be able to cover local issues thoroughly.

Firstly, apart from occasional holidays, most people spend the majority of their lives living and working in their local community. if there some important change or event, it is more likely to have a direct impact on their day-to-day life. Therefore, it is important for news organizations to be able to provide up-to-the-minute information to local citizens. For example, if there is a large fire in their city, people need to know as soon as possible in order to take precautions.

Furthermore, international news stories are often depressing, full of violence and misery. if people only focus on these large-scale events far away they will feel that the world is a terrible place. On the other hand, if news organizations can provide lots of examples of goodness in their local area, such as people helping each other in various ways, that will surely lift people’"> people’s spirits.

that is not to say that news organizations should be forced to cover local news. In most countries, the gathering and broadcasting of news stories exist within a competitive marketplace, and these organizations need to attract advertisers and make a profit. Nevertheless, in my view it would most certainly to improve the quality of people’"> people’s lives if there was more coverage of local news stories.