These days many people prefer online shopping to conventional shopping. What are the advantages and disadvantages of online shopping?

Nowadays people prefer to do their shopping online rather than using the traditional methods. Shopping malls and grocery stores are not crowded as they were few years ago. I will discuss the advantages of online shopping which offers convenience for users and its superiority in particular situations over traditional alternatives. Also, I will explain the drawbacks of online merchandising which cause people to be less active and the possible hardships when buying the clothing apperals.

The benefits of online shopping are plentiful since online purchasing allows shoppers to buy their needs easily and enables the people to compare the price differences among different brands conveniently. This is because individuals do not need to go to the stores physically, so they can click and purchase items without leaving their comfortable houses. For instance, Walmart allows its customers to shop even grocery and produce products online which would enable the people to save plenty of time. Apart from that, online retail websites ensure people to check the distinctions between stores, therefore it is much rapid for people to choose the product which is the most consistent for the purchaser. As an example, an online application called “Flipp” offers the cheapest prized grocery items in the nearby convenience stores to its customers. Consequently, online shopping made people’s lives smoother because every type of products can be delivered to customer’s door and everyone has a greater chance to evalaute the prices in the marketplace.

There are several disadvantages of online shopping that it causes people to act less actively and purchasing shopping apparel products online can be problematic for the customers. Considering this, people tend to shop online rather than going to shopping malls, hence it causes people to have lower activity levels. To illustrate, technology giant, Amazon, enables people to buy most of the products online which makes people more lazy and obese, thus choosing these online stores could be unhealthy for the customers. Another issue concerns is, purchasing pants, shoes or shirts online could be difficult, since people need to try it before they buy it, so online purchased items may not fit to the buyer and it would cause delays. For example, if a size 9 trekking shoe which is bought online is small for the buyer, then he/she needs to replace it at least with a size 9.5 that would take at least one week to receive the new one. As a result, online shopping decreases the level of activity of the users along with creating issues when it is chosen to buy clothing products.

To sum up, it is obvious that online shopping is widely used in people’s daily life due to its convenience, however, its drawbacks should not be neglected to have a more satisfactory shopping experience.