The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally.

What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

The rising tendency of people to travel has enabled English to be spreaded all around the world, therefore many people believe it will be the only language that is spoken in the future. In this essay, the benefits and drawbacks of having one language worldwide will be explained.

On the one hand, there are plentiful benefits of having only one language globally. Firstly, people will feel more convenient to communicate with individuals from other nations. This can increase the integration among the societies and allow them to unite for global problems. Thus, individuals all around the world can exchange information more comfortably to solve world problems such as global warming or natural disasters. Secondly, the level of commercial activity among countries may soar thanks to the distruption of language barriers that hamper trade flow. Consequently, the welfare of the countries will increase with utilizing the advantages of global trade further. Lastly, students may enrol to universities without any language proficiency, hence pupils can enjoy studying without language proficiency restrictions.

On the other hand, there many disadvantages of having only just one language globally. Initially, the disappearence of languages would destroy the cultural aspects around the world which would vanish customs and traditions. Further, people may prefer to travel to abroad less often than today, since the attractiveness of the distinctions in cultures will not available.

To sum up, having only one language in the world comes with both benefits and drawbacks. Prominent members in the world should analyse both sides and respond this matter after making a careful decision.