The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

In recent years, tourism field has been considerably improving, which has led English to become the most dominant spoken language all over the four corners of the world. This essay will explore some of the potential benefits and the drawbacks of having only one communication language between people all over the world.

To begin with the advantages, a crucial merit that the trend of one language worldwide might have is the easier international communication between countries. This is because language is perceived to be one of the most significant boundaries that countries might encounter if they are planning to build a cooperation. In contrast, when governments communicate via multiple languages, misunderstanding might occur during international conferences; thus, they might struggle with solving global issues. Besides, the one language communication approach would lead to wider knowledge spread. Whereas research will be issued only in English, knowledge can be transferred much easier, because studies will be readable by everyone.

Nevertheless, having English as the only human tongue does present some problems, the most obvious of which is the disappearance of the translation field. Since humans will be interacting with the same language, and in turn, researches will be written with one language that is readable for all people, translators might not be needed anymore. As a result, a whole field of knowledge and studies, which was built over years and by extended efforts, will be destroyed. Another significant problem that the usage of one language can create is the identity loss. The reason for this is that the local language of the vast majority of nations tend to be the cornerstone of their culture. Therefore, this cultural identity would be in real danger if people eliminated their mother language.

In conclusion, although using one language all over the world can be beneficial in terms of smoothing international communication across countries and facilitating knowledge spread, it can lead to eliminating the translation science and the cultural identity of nations.