Public libraries will soon no longer be housed in a building as al facilities and books will be available online for all to access. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of public libraries only existing online.

In recent years, the trend of relying on online libraries to access materials has risen in popularity over its traditional alternative of building-based libraries. This essay will explore some of the benefits and drawbacks that this approach has created.

To begin with the merits, one crucial advantage that e-libraries have is their unlimited availability. This is because digital libraries can be access from any destination in the four corners of the world at all times. For instance, a student who is living in the Middle East can easily have accessibility to an American library vial his laptop at any time of the day. Another significant advantage that virtual bookstores provide is that people, nowadays, can transfer knowledge much easier than ever before. As soft copies of the vast majority of references are in the reach of hand on the internet, they can easily be sent over networks; hence, more people can benefit from these materials.

Nevertheless, the usage of online libraries does present some problem, the most obvious of which is reader distraction. This happens because when people read from screen, they might get distracted by surfing the social networks or playing online games. Unlike with the paper books, since the reader tend to be focusing their mind on the book they hold, they are more likely to get thoroughly involved in the reading process. To make matters worse, reading for long hours from a screen might cause several attention problems. A study conducted by Cairo University reported that staring at a monitor for more than 6 hours a day could lead to attention disorder, which often have a negative impact on people’s work and daily routine.

In conclusion, although digitalized libraries are beneficial in terms of their availability and that they facilitate knowledge spread, it is significant