Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while other thinks is has disadvantages to this. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

In recent years, organizations have been excessively using sports field as a marketing channel for their products and services. However, while some believe that this rise in popularity is beneficial for several reasons, I would agree with those who argue that the drawbacks of this trend outweigh the advantages.

On the one hand, sponsoring sports events has various benefits, the most obvious of which is that it is a smart marketing tool for companies. This is because since sports is a field that has zillions of fans, sponsoring sports teams or athletes is a gigantic method for enterprises to grab the attention of those audience. Accordingly, sponsoring companies can have their sales boosted and their customers increased; and thus can record higher revenues. To exemplify, a survey by BBC news about Red Bull Company reported that its sales have increasing by %30 during the African Nations Championship because the company was one of the main sponsors of the event.

On the other hand, this trend does present some problems; a crucial one is the significant rise in consumption rates among people. The reason for this is that the vast majority of sports fans tend to purchase goods that they do not need only because it is endorsed by their favorite team. For instance, a questionnaire administered by the advertising department of Nike Company indicated that 2000,000 pairs of their new issued model were bought by teens since Mohamed Salah appeared wearing them in his last football match. Therefore, the sponsorship of super star athletes could lead clients to be highly consuming and spend funds on unnecessary staff rather than using them for better purposes.

In conclusion, although the sponsorship of sports might be of great benefit to companies in terms of raising their profits, I believe that it can have a detrimental impact on people’s consuming behavior.