Many working people get little or no exercise either during the working day or in their free time, and have health problems as a result.

Why do so many working people not get enough exercise? What can be done about this problem?

People have been leading a sedentary lifestyle over the last few years. This essay will explore the factors behind the diminishing popularity of exercising among employees and propose some measures to mitigate this problem.

One reason why working people tend to have less exercising during their regular days and leisure time is the long working hours. This is influential because if a worker spend more than ten hours per day at their workplace in addition to the daily commuting time, they would be so exhausted to participate in any additional activity after work. Besides long working hours, the demanding nature of modern life has resulted in people having extra family and domestic responsibilities. Consequently, this has led people, particularly workers, to give up exercising since they are overwhelmed with enormous work and personal duties.

Nevertheless, these are some procedures that can be adapted by the government and the employers to help workers turn back to exercising. An effective solution could be that governments should legally enforce companies to change their policy regarding long working hours. If organizations reduced the daily working hours for their staff, this would save time and effort for workers, and they might be able to participate in sports in their free time. Another vital solution that employers can provide is to equip the workplace buildings with gym facilities so that workers can exercise during break times. This is of paramount importance for people who work on shift-basis since they frequently spend most of their days inside their workplaces; thus, they tend to have very little room of time to practice any activity after work.

In conclusion, long working hours and immense household responsibilities are two main reasons for people’s sedentary routine. However, this concern could be tackled by imposing laws to reduce working hours and equipping work premises with facilities that allow workers to exercise in their break time.