The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally.

What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world

Although English becoming the solo language with the growth of tourism is thought advantageous by many, other consider it can be detrimental. One language helps in maintaining cordial relations across globe and helps in growth of business but there are certain drawbacks to be taken into account.

On the one hand, there are number of advantages of English becoming the single language with the development of tourism. Firstly, one language helps in developing cordial relationship by means of easy communication. Communication is a two way process and is considered healthy when both parties understand and respond to each other well. Secondly, this helps students from various parts of the world to study the courses they wanted in any country. Language will not be a barrier anymore in achieving their dreams. Thirdly, having one language can do wonders in business world also. Business and traders will no longer be requiring translaters for the deal or message they want to convey to their clients or stakeholders.

On the other hand, one problem with adopting single language world-wide is that the future generation of the countries will not be able to know the rich cultural heritage of their country that possess in the form of local language. This will lead to further decrease in the personal connect that people have when they interact in their dialect. Another issue with this is that some countries may loose their identity as they are renowned for their rich languages. It is therefore called that there is unity in diversity in India.

In conclusion, while there are merits of one language used globally, it can also lead to danger to cultural heritage and identity crises for same countries.