Some parents want their children to read only serious educational books at all times, and they think it is a waste of time to read any entertainments books. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many parents believe that their kids should only read educational books rather than sparing time for the books which entertain the young people. They argue their children only need educational materials to become successful citizens. In this essay, I will explain why I firmly disagree with this opinion for several reasons.

First of all, young readers should be free to spend their leisure time for the books that they are fond of reading to discover their interests. When these kids explore different types of books such as comics, sports books or music books; they can find out more about their interests and possible hobbies which would entertain their free time. To illustrate, when a kid, who is not familiar with football, wishes to purchase a biograpghy book of Maradona, well-known football star, parents should encourage them to buy this book, since it might enable the child to discover his interest in football. After completing the book, the young adult may spend his weekends with playing football with his friends which would make him both delighted and socially active.

Second, parents should keep their kids independent about purchasing books to flourish them freely and successfully. When children are forced to read only educational books, they would lack self confidence since they may not make particular decisions in the future without the help of their parents. In other words, making even basic personal decisions such as choosing a book without considering the preferences of children would hamper the personality of the young adults. Secondly, young people may feel less motivated to study for school if they are not allowed to read the books that are interesting to them. Life should be lived as a whole, so children should not only read books that are beneficlal for their academic success but also spare time for entertaining materials.

To sum up, I believe that young adults should be left independent to read entertaining books so as to enable them to discover their possible hobbies and to raise them as self confident, successful individuals.