In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this .

Although the years you spend in education are equally important, many believe the time after finsishing high school and starting your further education is the most crucial one that decides their entire future. Many parents are of the opinion that their children should take a break year before joining college, where as other think it is a waste and want their kids to complete their education in one go.

There are significant advantages to taking this break to either get some profressional experience or travel to learn vital life lessons. The predominant benefit of this is that you get a chance to test the waters, in other words, you can try working in your field of interest. This will, therefore, help the student decide if the choosen industry is where they would like to work for rest of their lives or change their area of education. Another merit in favor of taking a break and traveling is that it teaches you important life lessons such as adpationg to change, talking to strangers or managing unforeseen circumstances. These are vital for not only in regular day to day activities but also in a corporate environment. XX

Even though the idea of taking a year apart sounds reasonable, there are some persuasive arguments aganinst taking this break. One such drawback to this is that these students will end up taking longer than their peers to finish their education and start working. As a result, they might have a slower growth trajectory in their jobs and this could lead to frustration and unhappiness. The other disadvantage is that, for someone at such a young age the prospect of earining money can derail them from their long termlong-term goals. This could, furthermore, lead to them not puersuing their university education which will affect them in the long run. A student studying to become a doctor, for instance, will get influenced with the income he or she generates from baisic duties at the hospital and miss you on their dream of becoming a successful medical professional.

In conclusion, the break year can be fruitful and empowering, provided that the younger generation do not get carried away and come back to finsish their education.