Some people believe it is better to study subjects that have practical applications. Others, however, think it is better to study subjects that are theoretical. Discuss both views

Education is the backbone of an individual’s professional as well as personal development. Although schools try to give students the right amount of knowledge, some parents feel they should focus more on subjects with real life usage versus theory the based ones. In this essay, I will elaborate on both sides of this argument and share why I believe that education institutions should foucus on practical usage driven courses.

It is common beliefve that there are some subjects that will help pupilis navigate a real world sceneario and to miss out on these will have an adverse effect on their future. In other words, if schools taught subjects such as basic financial planning, for instance, it will be fruitful for students in the long run. Moreover, a topic like taxation will be relevant for every individual and many struggles with it for years as this is not taught at most universities. Curriculum at educational institutions, therefore, should be created keeping in mind its future applications.

On the other hand, many are also of the opinion that day-to-day experiences will teach you the above knowledge and hence, schools should focus on courses which one can only learn via text books. A case in point for this is the subject on History, this is not only importnant for knowing where we came from, but also to learn what went wrong in the past. This, however, will help in understanding the behaviorial traits of people in different countiries, which is also equally required.

In conclusion, both categoryies of teaching types are equally important for an all-round development. In my view, schools should, thus, have a blend of theoretical and practical subjects in their curriculum.