Some people believe it is better to study subjects that have practical applications. Others, however, think it is better to study subjects that are theoretical.

Discuss both views

You should write at least 250 words

The field of education has developed drastically over the last decade. We have seen a plethora of subjects emerging, which has increased the options for students worldwide. While pursuing a specific subject, some people prefer developing their skill in the practical field while a few others, specifically those aiming for a PhD, end up spending their time in expanding theoretical knowledge. In this essay, I will be highlighting both sides of the spectrum and explaining why there is a split in choice between the two.

Some professions such as Chefs and Doctors require practical application throughout their career, which is precisely why hands-on experience is imperative during their study. Taking an example of chefs, they spend most of their time in the kitchen where they apply all the knowledge gained during their culinary training. Although they do refer to recipe books as theory, the only way of grasping cooking techniques is by putting it to use in the kitchen. The best way of learning in such professions is by putting theory into practice and making mistakes to improve in the future. Because grasping is an important part of such professions, some people choose to spend more time in practical experience rather than studying through books.

On the other hand, there are certain subjects such as Anthropology and History which are dominant in theoretical knowledge. People who prefer opting for research oriented careers lie on this side of the coin. While there is an element of practicality involved in these fields too, maximum information is captured through books and studies that originate in the past. This makes it important for people to rely on in-depth reading of the subject, which makes it heavy on theory.

In conclusion, the choice of subjects depends largely on your career plans for the future. People who prefer being in action oriented careers such as chefs and doctors, where learning by doing is important, end up going for practical subjects. Whereas, people who aim to become professors or researchers end up in education that largely thrives on theoretical knowledge.