Nowadays, people have greater access to fast food. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Even though the concept of fast food was originated in the US, in the second part of the 20th century, it has spread across rapidally across the whole world. Currently, It’s a whooping over thirty billion dollars industry. Greater access to fast food has brought us with few benefits, but the disadvantages outweight the benefits. In this essay, I would present both advantages and disadvantages and present how disadvantages outweight the benefits.

Firstly, the only noteworthy advantage that the fast food industry has given us is the convenience. It uses standardised processes that ensures that consistency of taste is delivered in the least amount of time. The convenience it brings in in times of busier lifestyles is unmatched to any food innovation of the century. For example, the travellers can rely on fast food when travelling to different cities / countries eventhough they might not be familliar with the local food. However, the convenience of quick food from standardised processes comes at a cost.

While there are many disadvantages of the widespread fast food trend, the most important ones are pertaining to the adverse affects on health. There is enough research that links obesity with fast food. There has been a constant increase in the number of heart patients due to obesity across the world. It has also been cited that the ingredients used in fast food industry have strong signs of causing cancer. In United States alone, over 40% of the population between the age of 40 and 70 is classified as obese. The problem is increasing across other counties as well. Such adverse effects on health is a big cost to pay for the conveience it delivers.

In conclusion, high accessibility to fast food has helped us have a more inter-connected globalised world, where in we get to experience standaridised food at fast speed, but it has effected us to become unhealthier versions of ourselves. The convenience it brings in comes at a very high cost of our health.