Nowadays, people have greater access to fast food. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the years, consumption of food has evolved shockingly. In the past, people resorted to eating home, but now people prefer eating food that is quickly available to them. While there are pros to this change, there are some cons that cannot be ignored by us. There are many studies that talk about the disadvantages of fast food, which I agree with. I will be throwing light on the pros as well as the cons today.

Among many advantages, one of the main reasons for the growth of fast food chains is our busy lifestyle. People have become career focussed and spend over 40 hours a week working through the day. Because of this, they end up struggling to find time to eat. But thanks to the convenience of fast food, grabbing a cheeseburger from the nearest fast food joint is just a 20 minute run. This is further proven right by increasing demand for fast food, which has led to the growth in quick service restaurants such as McDonalds and Pizza Huts all over the world. And therefore, convenience has led to a rise in consuming fast food over cooked meals at home.

However, even though convenience is important in today’s day, I believe that the harm fast food brings to our health overtakes the pros of it. The largest evidence of this is the rise in obesity among younger generations across the world. For example, at least one in five children in the US have obesity, and this has only increased over the past few years. Moreover, consuming fast food has other health concerns such as diabetes, blood pressure that eventually lead to strokes and heavy medical bills. Even though fast food chains are more accessible, the convenience of it comes at a cost of your health, which is not worth it.

In conclusion, fast food joints have definitely increased over the years, but the health concerns of consuming it outweighs the convenience of accessing it. And this is becoming an alarming cause of concern all over the world.