Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child’s development while others think that it is important for children to go to school.

Discuss the advantages of both methods and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Over the past decade, there has been a drastic change in the way education systems function all over the world. And digital technology has accelerated the changes further in the past couple of years. As a 90s kid with Indian parents, I have been constantly reminded of the importance of education while growing up. And more importantly, not missing a single day of school.

Schooling in the 90s was taken very seriously. The importance of going everyday to school was the foundation of education. Fast forward to 2020, I hear the new age parents talking about schooling children at home, since everything is available on the internet. This led to the rise of home schooling as a consideration for your child, although, in my opinion, I feel its a 50-50 state where in half the people I know prefer home schooling and the other half still prefer sending their children to public or private schools

As with everything around the world, homeschooling as a concept has it’s own advantages and disadvantages. There are multiple advantages of homeschooled children, one of the biggest being high in discipline. In my network of friends, I have interacted with a few homeschooled children and 90% of them are highly disciplined. And this is because when you’re schooled at home, the parent is able to embibe their value system to the child, which is mostly missed out in schools. The reason it’s overlooked in schools is because of ther sheer number of children. Its practically impossible to discipline each and every child. Apart from these many other advantages come along such as providing utmost focus since it’s only one (or maybe two) children, and the most obvious advantage is the savings to the family by not spending a bigger chunk of a annual income of a household towards education

However, the biggest and the only disadvantage, in my opinion is the lack of interaction with other children. Afterall, we are all humans and each of thrive on social interaction. Ofcourse there are other ways of developing social interaction for the child, but what a child learns in the environment of a school, it’s not the same as what he or she would learn at home

In my opinion, I strongly believe as much as homeschooling has its advantages, the disadvantage or the lack of social interaction is a big game changer. I believe every child needs to have an open environment, and most importantly, a parent free environment to develop their own social interactions, their own value systems and their own learnings without the limitations of a home. Yes education system may have its disadvantages of being a high budget investment but its an investment in your child’s future afterall. And not just investment from an education standpoint, but from a social standpoint as well.

To conclude, I feel the education system is definitely not the same as in the 90s. The digital wave has brought a different perspective to it whether its homeschooling or going to an institution to learn. Therefore, I believe there is a better future in the institutional system as well and there is a lot a child can learn by interacting with other people. I view that a more flexible and free approach for your child’s future and well being.