Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age.

Do you agree or disagree?

Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

It is argued that every Occupation should have its own retirement age unlike a generic retirement age we have now. I strongly believe that certain occupation carries more risk than others. So we should have flexible and earlier retirement plans for such occupations.

The age of retirement should be different for each field depending on the risk involved in the field. For Instance possibility of a Police or Armed force personal dying in the line of duty is quite high compared to other professions. They have served the country during their prime ages. So they have every right retire early than other professionals and enjoy an early retirement. In addition to the risk they take, they are obligated to travel across the country throughout their career. In this process not only the individuals but their family also would have made lots of sacrifice in terms of quality of life, Education etc. So if they retire early they have the option of settling in a place of their choice.

The early retirement of senior officials mean that they leave way for the next generation to join the work force sooner than they once could. These are certain set of people who sacrificed more than the common bloke of the country, So deserves to have their bite in the pie through early retirement.

Some people thinks one retirement age for all fields of work is not healthy for the society. As we have discussed it is imperative that we have early retirement for Police and Military for the service they did for the country and the risks they took in the process.