Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What

can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

With the advent of cheaper production due to technological advancements, a new trend of quick replacements is on the rise. This, moreover, is leading to a drastic increase in the waste generated across the landfills. This essay will highlight the notable reasons for this occurreance and suggest some possible solutions that government bodies can incorporate to resolve this situation.

People have seen a growth in the rubbish that is getting collected daily and there are two significant causes of this increase. The predominant reasoning is relalted to affordable electronic devices. Over the years, we have seen a growth in the usage of phones, tablets, and computers , which has driven their manufacturing companies to match the demand by launching cheaper models at regular intervals. This results into the consumers replacing their existing electronics rather frequently. The older versions are, therefore, discarded and end up in the rubbish pile. Another serious reason for this rise in waste products is due to the growing craze of fast fashion. In other words, more and more individuals are opting for low priced clothes irrespective of the quality as they do not plan to wear it for a long time and eventually reach the dumping grounds. A case in point is the online clothing store called Shien, they sell garments for as low as $5 with no shipping cost. Since it barely pinches the customer’s pocket, these items are worn once or twice and then thrown away.

However, there are some strategic moves that the government can undertake to reduce the amount of waste products. To start with, the authorities can order these electronic companies to gather these older versions and reuse its workable parts to reduce the waste. They can, furthermore, place strict guidelines on the reuse and recycle requirements with serious punishments. Additionally, the government can encourage the citizens to give their old clothes to the less fortunate by conducting donation drives across cities. They can also give incentives to people who submit receipts from thrift stores such as goodwill or salvation army. This will indirectly help reduce the amount of rubbish that ends up in the landfills and instead be used for a good cause.

In conclulsion, although a higher number of rubbish is getting produced now-a-days, simple steps from the authorities such as asking the companies to reuse older parts and push recycling of old clothes in the way of donation can drastically improve the situation in the future.