The internet has transformed the way information is shared and consumed, but it has also created problems that did not exist before.

What are the most serious problems associated with the internet and what solutions can you suggest?

The internet has totally changed the way information is distributed and used, however it has also forged issues that did not prevail earlier. Leakage of confidential data and a considerable increase in the cybercrime rate through hacking are the two main concerns associated with the internet. I will discuss these problems in detail and suggest suitable measures in the subsequent paragraphs.

First and foremost, people these days are using social network for not just communicating with their friends and acquaintances but also to share their personal lives by uploading their videos and photographs. This could pose a major threat to their confidentiality as anyone can misuse their data. For instance, as per the latest report of wiki leaks, eighty percent of the information uploaded by the users of social networking sites is under threat and can be misused. Another issue is the increase in the number of hacking activities across the world which is considered to be the biggest threat to the online data. To illustrate, according to the World Bank report, sixty percent of the banking data was hacked by the hackers in the US in 2018 and this could have resulted in the loss of billions of dollars.

Turning to the possible solutions, people can restrict their connections on social networking sites in order to eliminate the threat of their data breach. Moreover, companies such as Facebook, Instagram and Snapchat should eliminate the suspicious user accounts which failed to verify their identity. This approach could aid in removing threat to the confidentiality of the data. Another remedy to curb the problem is to create anti-hacking squads within the organizations. For example, Twitter has initiated the process of anti-hacking strategies which are followed to protect the consumer's data.

To conclude, breach of personal data and rise in the hacking incidents are the prime concerns associated with the use of the internet. However, they can be addressed by creating cyber security awareness among people and enacting strict anti-hacking laws.