It is becoming increasingly popular in some parts of the world nowadays to research the history of one’s own family. Why might people want to do this? Is it a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, there is a growing trend of exploring the past of one’s own family history. It certainly is a positive development as diving deep into the family’s history not only gives a glimpse of the culture and traditions related to the ethnic background but also helps the individuals to feel connected with their ancestors.

People feel curious to know about the past related to their family because they want answers relating to festivals, cultural values and certain inherited traits. People all around the world celebrate different festivals and traditions however, the reason behind celebrating such festivals can only be found by exploring the family history of that particular ethnic group. For instance, families of particular town in Himachal do not celebrate the most important festival of Hindus known as Dusshera as it is considered disrespectful to burn the statue of lord Ravana who was worshipped by the ancestors of the families residing in this town. Another reason is this that certain skills and talents are carried on from one generation to another in certain families. Therefore, people want to know the pioneer from their family for starting it in the first place. For instance, classical music is a talent that is passed from one generation to another in certain families in India.

In addition, immigration from one country to another is quiet common nowadays. People who are settled in a different country and have lost touch with their family members feel the need to gain knowledge about their family history and other members of their family. Consequently, they go as far as travelling miles away to their hometown in distant countries to put an end to the questions about their past and meet their ancestors such as grandparents, uncles and aunts.

In conclusion, gaining knowledge about one’s own family history is a positive development. It not only gives a clear glimpse about certain inherited traits that are carried from one generation to another but also helps in discovering the reason for celebrating the traditions and festivals in one’s family.