It is becoming more and more difficult to escape the influence of the media on our lives. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in a media-rich society.

There are quite a number of medium for disseminating information in today's world. whether over the internet, through the television, radio, or social media, it has become almost impossible to escape the influence of media in our every day lives. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of living in a media rich society.

Exposure to various forms of information such as adverts, through various mediums has an overbearing impact on how we live. For example commercials from car companies such as Toyota or Nissan conditions our minds to acquire cars from either brands. Also, the lifestyle of people on fashion, music and politics are influenced by the media. Various fashion updates from the leading designers in Milan, Paris and London are communicated through the media to influence perspectives. The media is a tool used to influence human behavior.

Despite the benefits of the media, there are drawbacks. Quite a number of commercials that are not age appropriate are shown to children. technological innovations such as smartphones have increased access to negative media through social media apps and the internet. Illicit contents are easily accessible to children and minors. in addition, not all information can be said to be true. Activities such as betting and other get rich quick schemes are advertised without communicating the possibility of huge losses.

In conclusion, while there are merits to media exposure such as easy access to information, updates on trends and recent developments, there are also demerits due to misleading information. Much of our activities today are predicated on contents and commercials we have seen at one time or the other, we must learn to identify and filter out negative media.