Nowadays people’s life is changing rapidly and, as a result, family relationships are affected. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages? Give your opinion and examples from your own experience.

With a rapidly changing business and technological atmosphere, the family structure is transforming throughout the world. I think this has numerous advantages ranging from better career opportunities to greater independence. This has a major disadvantage of lack of emotional bond among family members.

The structure is changing from joint family to nuclear family. This allows younger family members to focus more on career and less on family obligations. Members of a joint family are often engaged in taking care of elderly and dependent members. A nuclear family is free of such compulsions and allows youngsters to spend more time on economically productive tasks.

Moreover, a nuclear family allows all members to stay free of any interference. A joint family not only has more than two generations living under the same roof but also several uncles, aunts, and cousins in close vicinity. This leaves little room for privacy and almost no independence. The changing family structure, on the other hand, allows separate rooms for all members and, hence, they have the independence to act according to their wish.

However, this often leads to weakening of emotional bond among people. When the family structure breaks, it leads to lesser responsibility towards others and greater individuality. This results in a selfish culture in which each member looks after her interests and not that of others. Consequently, people become more materialistic and lesser human. For example, the changing family structure in Europe has resulted in more materialism while the tribals in Asia follow the traditional family structure and have strong emotions for other members of the family.

In conclusion, though the changing family structure results in a lack of emotional bond, it is beneficial for the individual and the economy.