It is important for children to learn the differences between right and wrong at the early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Nowadays, double income families has become a norm in various nations and consequently parents spend less time with their children which will lead to some misbehaviors in children. I believe that maintaining discipline in young children is an indispensable part in their upbringing and they should learn about the concept of right and wrong and some types of punishment would be beneficial for them.

There are a variety of reasons why I would argue that punishment is necessary in educational system. Firstly, children should learn that law is above everything and they should be informed of the issue that actions have consequences. Secondly, they should learn to obey their parents and pursue their rules at home and do it at schools as well. Finally, pupils who are rebellious and breaking the law repeatedly are more likely to become delinquents in the future. A salient example of this is the USA that could diminish the number of violent behaviors in elementary and secondary schools up to 30% by imposing laws and maintaining punishment.

On the other hand, it should be taken into consideration not to use the physical punishment at schools since it will have detrimental effects on pupils such as decreasing the self-esteem and confidence in children. The teachers of previous generation were allowed to use the corporal punishment at schools but nowadays it is against the law and teachers are supposed to use verbal punishment as well as imposing some prohibitions for children. Besides, parents may use the same method by provide some obligations for children such as preventing them from attending some parties or doing their favorite hobby.

In conclusion, young children are the next generation who are supposed to be the authorities of our countries in the future so they should be disciplined and learn to behave good in various occasions.