It is often said that we should work to live, not live to work. Discuss both points of view and give your own opinion.

It is without doubt that improving quality of life is the most important goal of everyone. With this regard, some people believe that our end goal should be living, and we have to only work to maintain a good life; however, others think that the whole purpose of living is working. In this essay, I will investigate these two opinions.

Let's start with the belief that the ultimate goal of living is working. Supporters of this side of the coin believe in dedication. They suggest that one can achieve a high quality of life only and if only dedicates herself to a carrier, path or a cause. There are numerous examples of this way of living, such as Einstein and Gandhi. These individuals incorporating their extraordinary talent, dedicated their life to their paths, thus creating a better world for themselves, people around them, and coming after them.

In contrast to the previous perspective, most of the people think that our ultimate goal should be enjoying life, and working is just a mean to that. These people think that either working hard or not, at the end of the day, we are going to die, so why not enjoying the moments that we have? This recipe works for majority of the society, owing to the fact that only a small number of people are capable of dedicating their life for a worthy path in life, and most of the people are just average Joe. Therefore, for this high number of people, dedication is just a pure waste of time and energy which at the end not only doesn't approach to any positive outcome, but also affect the person herself in a destructive way leading to a variety of illnesses such as depression and anxiety.

To summarize, I believe that for most of the people it is better to work as little and enjoy life as much as possible. This way, they don't need to gamble their whole life on a life-long carrier, to find out they lack the necessary talent or dedication at the end.