It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media.What do you think is the reason for the growth in the rate of juvenile crime?What solutions can you offer to deal with this situation

Nowadays the portrayal of violence on media tarnish the minds of people, especially their younger audience. Some believe that there has been a spike in juvenile crime due to disturbing and gory images shown all over the media. In my opinion, although media can influence people a majority of youth resort to crime as they find the jury system is very lenient towards underage criminals. To curb this, punishments should be made severe and even small crimes should not be over looked by the judicial system.

To start with, the media today has glorified crimes such as stalking, eve teasing, cyber bullying, etc. Juveniles are made to believe that by doing so they will be appreciated by their peers and society alike. In addition, the law for minors is not very harsh and they are usually let out by a small warning or paying a minuscule fine. As an illustration, movies today portray that the only medium to show love is to follow or harass someone till the person finally gives in. Also, if the hero is caught by the police, he is released on bail citing the reason of love. This shows a wrong image in the minds of young people who believe it is very easy to get fool the police and other legal system.

In order to deal with this situation, the law for juvenile crimes should be made strict and no crime whether big or small should go unnoticed. Once fear is instilled the crime rates will drop. To give an example, according to a recent survey there has been a decrease in crime as the bail amount and jail period from juveniles has been increased. Therefore, making them aware that nothing is nonpunishable and even if they are arrested the price for release is too high.

In conclusion, keeping the aforementioned points in mind, the onus of change cannot be entirely put these factors. Is stricter law and regulating the media really going to reduce juvenile crime? Once, they acquire the thrill and receive the encouragement from others to continue committing crimes it is extremely difficult to control that person.