Reading books keeps a person’s mind active, whereas watching films and television is passive and does not require a person to use their imagination.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

These days many books have been converted into movies and television series because more and more people prefer watching the adaptation of books rather than reading them. On one hand, it is more visually appealing to watch something. However, it creates a mind block as it stops people from using their own imagination. On the other hand, reading enables the mind to open up to infinite possibilities and simultaneously keeps the mind active. In my opinion, I definitely agree that reading books is much more beneficial than watching films and television.

To begin with, not only is reading good for your mind, but it is also a good habit to develop. Nowadays one does not need to carry a physical book and can practically read anytime and anywhere, due to the internet. Next, books can be very engaging, that they have power to transport you to another dimension. Moreover, the creative writing and descriptive nature of books are highly appreciated by many. For example, fiction books like "a song of ice and fire" and "Harry Porter" were greatly loved by many even though they were later adapted into a television series and movie respectively.

Conversely, watching television does more harm than good. Firstly, continuous exposure can be harmful to the brain as well as to the eyes. Television does not significantly contribute to mental development. In fact, it has some detrimental effects like causing a person to become dull or hampering vision. However, that is not the case with books. Secondly, a majority of films are made with the sole purpose of generating profits and for entertainment. Thus, little to no importance is given to the impact it will have on the minds of the audience.

In conclusion, I undoubtedly think books are absolutely vital. Reading is like an exercise for the mind whereas, television can be viewed for entertainment purpose.