Some people think that people who are over 60 years old should not work ans should be made to retire. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Currently, in most countries for almost all professions the age for retirement is set at 60 years, barring a few exceptions. While some agree with this age limit, others are of the opinion that a retirement age should not be set, but rather left to an individuals personal choice. In my view, I agree that a retirement age should be set at 60 years so as to make way for younger generations and also encourages people to enjoy the fruit of their hard-work.

To begin with, if people are given a choice to work without any upper age limit it can prove to have serious consequences on their health. In absence of a rule, people will continue working without thinking about the repercussions on themselves as well as the society at large. For example, if an old bus driver who has a problem with his eyesight continues driving without any restrictions, the lives of the passengers are put at risk. Therefore, laying down retirement policies is not only a favorable but is also a necessity.

On the contrary, making it compulsory to retire enable people being promoted, to fill in the empty positions, thus, creating more employment opportunities for younger generations. Moreover, the people who have retired are paid a handsome gratuity along with pension to lead their lives comfortably. Due to the rising number of unemployment, enforcing retirement will bring down that count down and strike a balance in society. One can always reach out to an old ex employee to seek guidance or in case of doubt.

In conclusion, does being retired mean being redundant? No! it simply means the end of one journey and the beginning of another. Since, work occupies a major portion of one's life, after retirement one can pursue their hobbies or develop a skill or undertake a task which has been long overdue!