In some countries, people prefer to rent a house for accommodation, while in other countries people prefer to buy their own house. Does renting a house have more advantages or disadvantages than buying a house?

These days in some countries people would rather rent a house instead of buying their own. This is because of exponentially high property rates which is not everyone's cup of tea. Whereas another school of thought opine that buying a house is an asset and prefer it over renting. Although, owning a house has it's own benefits, renting is far more advantageous and this essay shall analyze the same.

To begin with, these days property prices are sky rocketing, particularly in urban areas, and thus not everyone can afford to own their personal apartment. Renting makes it possible for people, who come from villages and small towns, to live comfortably in cities. Secondly, even though plethora of people consider buying a house as a long-term investment, there is no guarantee that it may appreciate in the future. These days it is not uncommon to see flats in prime locations being undervalued because there are not buyers. For example, many are compelled to sell their houses at a loss due to the acute shortage of people willing to invest in real estate.

On the other hand there is no dearth of people who are looking to rent a house. Renting gives the person flexibility to move in case they are unhappy with their accommodation. On the other hand, once you own a house, the freedom to change is curtailed. Likewise, although the older generation believed buying a house gives you stability, the younger generation opt for renting as it is a comparatively cheaper option. Therefore, nowadays many home owners for instance are giving their houses for rent instead of selling them. Consequently resulting in a continuous income in the form of rent.

To recapitulate, even though a small segment of people still prefer to buy their own house, this trend is dramatically witnessing a change as more and more people prefer to rent a house for accommodation. It is more appealing to the youngsters as it is pocket friendly and does not restricted the possibility of change.