Currently, there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine. However, at best these methods are ineffective, and at worst they may be dangerous. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Nowadays the usage of alternative forms of medicine is increasingly gaining popularity. Although, on one hand a minor downside is they may not cure the problem, on the other hand in worst case scenarios they maybe life threatening and sometimes even result in death. In my opinion, I totally agree that any different form of medication may be dangerous as they are not proved to be effective and must not be undertaken without complete knowledge.

To begin with, currently a plethora of medications are available in the market and their flashy advertisements lure people into their trap. They propagate their products and methods as painless and natural. However, it may not be necessarily true and at times may have adverse repercussion. To illustrate, a company introduced a pill that claimed to reduce obesity within 30 days. When investigated by the official, they found shocking results, where consumption of the tablet led to the patient experiencing lack of appetite and eating disorders. Consequently, proving that blindly falling prey to marketing gimmicks may have adverse effects.

Secondly, most of these alternative practices have not been proved to be helpful by any doctor or medical board. Hence, the authenticity and reliability of them is questionable. Lastly, consuming or undertaking anything without completely understanding it's ingredients or method may pose danger to life. For example, reiki claimed to provide healing using universal energy. However, until today it has not been scientifically proven. Therefore, although some techniques may at best be ineffective they should not be undertaken without proper research.

To recapitulate, I strongly believe that medicines should be consumed without guided supervision and trying any alternative forms may tend to be risky. They are not backed by science and under no condition must be entertained without conducting a thorough search.