Currently, there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine. However, at best these methods are ineffective, and at worst they may be dangerous. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Alternative medicine or questionable medicine or pseudo-medicine are medical practices which are unproven or are impossible to prove in relation to their effect. Some practices are so dangerous that they cause much more harm than healing effects.

Let us throw light on the first fact that such methods do not bring any effect, if not adverse, at all. The raw material used in these drugs causes a soothing effect. To explain further, the syrup given under ayurvedic medicine contains a large alcoholic and sugar content. Ethanol which produces an anesthetic effect on internal organs and sugar alters the mood. This gives a false sense of healing called the placebo effect in medical terms, which deceives the patient into thinking that he is under some magical treatment. Wse cases even death.

In a nutshell, it would be appropriate to conclude that pseudomedicine might give comfort for a short duration but does nothing more than giving a false impression of improved health. Generally, such procedures are unproven or disproven and are used by the practitioners for their own research only.